One Year

It’s been one year. One year since I was trying to navigate a horrible website design for unemployment. One year since three of us started staying home all the time. The 4th person had to work in-person. One year since we realized how lucky we were to have just gotten moved into the house, where we had SPACE. We hadn’t even been in the house long enough for me to feel comfortable moving my car in and out of the garage, lol.

I didn’t think COVID would last this long. I was so wrong. So very wrong. I vastly overestimated Americans’ willingness to help others. That’s my own fault, I guess. I like to think the best of people. I should have known better when I heard someone BAA-ing at people wearing masks in a Home Depot parking lot. It honestly didn’t occur to me that Americans would think they have a right to cram into bars, go on cruises, or cough on others.

So here we are, one year later. I’m making a go with freelancing, although I’m REALLY over writing about coffee, when I don’t even drink the stuff. But I’m doing well enough that I’m going to have to start doing quarterly estimated taxes. My parents are vaccinated. I’ve had dose #1 and will get dose #2 next month. And you know what? I’ll wear a mask. It’s not a big deal. If it doesn’t do anything, so what? I’ve lost nothing.

Kindness. Compassion. Be a good person. It’s just not that hard.

Leave a comment