Pro-Choice Means ALL Choices

I had already read the story, but this morning, there was an interview (http://abcnews.go.com/Lifestyle/daughter-bigger-purpose-life-family-carrying-terminally-ill/story?id=46128337) with Royce and Keri Young, the couple who made the decision to continue through a pregnancy, knowing that their baby would die shortly after birth, so that they can  donate her organs.  It struck me how they’re so at peace with their decision, even though the dad made this statement, “”You can be the most pro-life person in the world, but until you sit there and you, you hear those words and you look at your future going forward, that’s when you have got to face the reality and make your own decision.”

That statement had a two-fold effect on me.  One, she was 19 weeks pregnant when they found out about the condition.  In some states, including my own, abortion is now banned after 20 weeks.  In my state, the only exception is for the health of the mother.  Can you imagine being FORCED to go through another 21 weeks of pregnancy, knowing you wouldn’t be bringing home a baby from the hospital?  “Well, it’s not going to kill you, so you’re out of luck.”

On the other hand, I respect her choice.  She’s willing to go through with a pregnancy that won’t give her the healthy baby that she expected, in order to give other people a chance to live longer/better lives.  That’s not something that many women could do.  I don’t think I could do it, and that’s okay, too.  She’s made a decision that’s right for her, right for her family.  It’s no one else’s business.

So don’t call me pro-abortion because I want to see abortion remain legal.  I want every woman to be able to make the decision that’s best for her.  I’m not qualified to make that decision for anyone else except myself.

Leave a Reply

