I Could Use a Snow Day

I’ve moved around a lot in my adult life, but the vast majority of my adult years were spent in Connecticut.  I could sum up most of my time there in two words, “cold” and “snow.”  That said, our second child was born there, my kids spent most of their childhood there, we bought our first house there, and I made some great friends there.

So as I’m watching coverage of the New England blizzard, I’m a little nostalgic, both for the snow and the place.  Snow days are peaceful, with the flakes falling.  Well, unless there’s thundersnow. 🙂  Oh, and the plows.  I thought our house would rattle apart at times when the plows came through.  But aside from that, it’s SO quiet.  So beautiful.  And it forces you to stay home and be lazy, and that’s not entirely bad.

I’m more suited to winters in South Carolina, where they freak out if the temperature drops below freezing.  I’m not freezing cold for 6 months out of the year, and my joints don’t ache.  I don’t get zapped every time I touch something, and I don’t have to shovel the driveway, only to have the plow push another couple of feet of snow to the end again.

But a hurricane day just isn’t the same as a snow day.

Leave a Reply

