At Least You Have Your Health! Not exactly.

If you know me, you know that one of the things I’m passionate about is health care for everyone, not just those who can afford it.  All aboard the train for single-payer health care!

I’d like to say that it’s very altruistic of me, but the reality is, it’s very personal.  I’m in my early 40s, and I have a list of medications longer than some 80-year-old people have.  If you were to see me in person, you’d never know.  I look perfectly healthy.  I’m not overweight.  My blood pressure is low.  My cholesterol is low.  I follow a reasonably healthy diet.

And yet, I have Crohn’s disease and asthma.  I’m on 3 medications directly related to Crohn’s disease.  Three medications directly related to asthma.  And for the love of God, please don’t tell people you know someone who did this diet or that and was magically cured.  I’ve been dealing with this for 13 years.  I think I and my gastroenterologist know a little bit more than you do.  There’s no cure.  For me, there’s not even a true remission.  I’ve accepted that, and I’m grateful for the times I’m mostly symptom-free, and I’m grateful that the times of symptoms won’t kill me.

But it adds up.  Financially, physically, mentally, it takes a toll.  These aren’t inexpensive conditions.  Doctor visits, prescriptions, the knowledge that this will be part of my life forever.  I have “good” insurance through an employer.  Not Obamacare, but the ACA has directly impacted my insurance.  I don’t have to worry about paying more for my insurance, or worse yet, being denied coverage completely.  There’s no lifetime cap on coverage.  And a colonoscopy is now covered as preventive care, so it’s nice that I wasn’t billed for my latest one.

But we could do better for the American people.  We SHOULD do better.  I’m able to have access to good health care.  Everyone should have the same.

Leave a Reply

