How Did This Happen?

We are one week into the Trump administration, and I’m still waiting for confirmation that we were Punk’D.  I never believed that the American public would let this happen, and since it’s obvious that his supporters turned out in droves, that makes me question the people around me who voted for him.  I generally never cut ties with someone because of politics or beliefs, but I’m finding that this goes much deeper.  When you’ve made it clear that you support bigotry and hatred, when you show intolerance for people’s choices, when you feel you have the right to tell me what to do with my personal life and personal choices… yes, I’ll cut those ties.

I try to live my life by respecting others.  By caring.  By not trying to run the life of someone else.  I don’t care if you believe in God or not.  I don’t care if you’re gay or not.  I don’t care whom you want to marry, or if you want to marry someone at all.  I try to have empathy for others.  You won’t see me calling someone a name for supporting different policies.  You won’t see me making blanket assumptions, or at least I hope not.  Feel free to call me out if you do see it.  I try to live my life by the golden rule.  When I see someone living his/her life by some other standard, *that is when I’ll cut ties.

I can’t change how someone else reacts to something.  I can only change how I react.

Leave a Reply

